Traktor S2 MK2 - Macbook Pro Dual Core Duo Processor - HELP...
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Tech Student
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Posts
    1

    Default Traktor S2 MK2 - Macbook Pro Dual Core Duo Processor - HELP...

    Well folks my Traktor S4 MK1 has bit the dust (hardware problem) and I am in a situation that I cannot afford to purchase a new laptop. My macbook pro from 2009 has a new SSD drive and 8 gig of Ram, OSX 10.10.5. It runs great. I now purchased a Traktor S2 MK2 as no MK1 available. So here I am I have gigs coming up and really need to work with this. I hear so many different things from NI and I need to know if my processor can pull it off and work with the new unit. Please advise?

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    UK,Cardiff
    Posts
    194

    Default mk2

    Quote Originally Posted by JBaisi View Post
    Well folks my Traktor S4 MK1 has bit the dust (hardware problem) and I am in a situation that I cannot afford to purchase a new laptop. My macbook pro from 2009 has a new SSD drive and 8 gig of Ram, OSX 10.10.5. It runs great. I now purchased a Traktor S2 MK2 as no MK1 available. So here I am I have gigs coming up and really need to work with this. I hear so many different things from NI and I need to know if my processor can pull it off and work with the new unit. Please advise?
    You have not stated the actual cpu in the 2009 Mac.
    The Mk2 s2 will work fine. I have one on a 2010 Macbook but it's a Core i7 with 16gb ram and SSD.
    MBP i7. Denon MC4000. Traktor Scratch A6. DDJ SX Serato DJ.

  3. #3
    Tech Guru astromech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,745

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mr.raw View Post
    You have not stated the actual cpu in the 2009 Mac.
    The Mk2 s2 will work fine. I have one on a 2010 Macbook but it's a Core i7 with 16gb ram and SSD.
    He said it's a Core Duo.

    OP, what do the minimum specs for the controller say? Here they are:

    SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
    Mac OS X 10.9, 10.10 or 10.11.1 (latest update), Intel Core i5, 4 GB RAM

    I'd say "no".
    A&H Xone:96 | Xone:K1 | 2 x 1210s | Traktor Pro 3 | Apple Macbook Pro (2015) 13" | Sennheiser HD7 DJ | Maschine Mikro Mk3
    read: http://djworx.com/author/dan-morse
    talk: http://facebook.com/bleeptechno
    listen: http://mixcloud.com/bleephudds

  4. #4
    DJTT Mapping Ninja Moderator Stewe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    MIDI
    Posts
    7,372

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by happydan View Post
    He said it's a Core Duo.

    OP, what do the minimum specs for the controller say? Here they are:

    SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
    Mac OS X 10.9, 10.10 or 10.11.1 (latest update), Intel Core i5, 4 GB RAM

    I'd say "no".
    So would I. With slower configuration than NI is recommending you are only taking chances at your gigs.

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    UK,Cardiff
    Posts
    194

    Default Core 2

    Quote Originally Posted by happydan View Post
    He said it's a Core Duo.

    OP, what do the minimum specs for the controller say? Here they are:

    SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
    Mac OS X 10.9, 10.10 or 10.11.1 (latest update), Intel Core i5, 4 GB RAM

    I'd say "no".
    My bad it was in the title
    MBP i7. Denon MC4000. Traktor Scratch A6. DDJ SX Serato DJ.

  6. #6
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,675

    Default

    If its a macbook pro, its should be a Core 2 Duo and will run just fine.

    Intel Core i5, 4 GB RAM
    Honestly I think this is more about NI covering their ass, I've not had any issues with traktor and my 2009 13' macbook pro

    I hear so many different things from NI and I need to know if my processor can pull it off and work with the new unit. Please advise?
    You have the hardware and software, just test the hell out of it.

    Yes, you "might" have issues if you try chaining 12 delay FX together while playing 8 layers of stems or something along those lines, just know your limits

  7. #7
    Tech Mentor frankle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    279

    Default

    If you're just using the S2mk2 the best advise I can give is roll your OS back to Mountain Lion 10.8.5 and use Traktor 2.6.8.

    This is a very stable combination that will run just fine on your older MacBook Pro.
    Main Gig Comp - MacBook Air 11" 1.3GHz i5, 4GB, 512GB, OS X 10.12.6
    Gig Gear - TSP 2.6.8 & 2.11.2, Kontrol X1mk2 (x2), D2 (x2), S5, Xone:92, Xone:PX5, CDJ-2000 (x2), DDJ-XP1 ... Rekordbox DJ 5 with a few packs ...
    Plenty of studio gear and not enough time ... and a few Nexo PA systems

  8. #8
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Northampton, UK
    Posts
    49

    Default

    My 2009 Macbook with a similar spec (sans the SSD) used to handle traktor fine. Mountain Lion and Traktor 2.6.8 as above.

  9. #9
    Tech Guru deevey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    From Ireland Living in Manila: Philippines :D
    Posts
    3,675

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by johnyfav View Post
    My 2009 Macbook with a similar spec (sans the SSD) used to handle traktor fine. Mountain Lion and Traktor 2.6.8 as above.
    I'm on a 2009 macbook pro 2.4, 8gb & also with a regular spinny hard disk.

    Latest OSX 10.11.3, Traktor version 2.10.2, I've genuinely found everything getting faster with every update.

    Been playing around with it and my VCI-100 mk2 for hours on end without any glitches whatsoever even with a ton of samples loaded across the remix decks. I cant imagine the S2 being any different seeing as its also a class compliant device.

  10. #10
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    19

    Default

    I'm also on a 2009 MBP with 8 gigs ram, SSD and a S4 MK2 using Traktor 2.6.8 with Yosemite and it's running great.

    There is an NI support page where you can download the stable legacy versions of Traktor, including 2.6.8 if you need it

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •