How much time invested until profitability ; Earning a few bucks in graduate school.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default How much time invested until profitability ; Earning a few bucks in graduate school.

I'm new to the forum and seek to learn all that I can while on here. I'm currently a newbie to the DJ world with the aspiration of becoming a performing dj / producer. I am also currently a senior level student finishing up my bachelors degree.
    I currently am faced with a dilemma and you guys can be of tremendous help.

I am currently on track to work in the business world within marketing. After getting a taste of practical business experience, I realize, that in order to get ahead in corporations and agencies you have to put in a lot of hours, we're talking 50+. If I don't find a job within 40 -50 hour range, it's not really worth it to me. My true aspiration is to make something out of DJ / Producing, not earning 100k+ by working 60+ hours in an industry thats mildly interesting. In the mean time, I know I need to make a living. The goal would be to go to grad school in a career that allows for a work/life balance. Im not sure marketing will allow me to get that.

Do you guys think it's it is possible to become skilled enough to land paid gigs within one years time of learning how to do to dj? Could it be enough to pay your bills as a broke college student?.. Post - grad, I would fall back from DJing for money and focus on producing. Figuring the sequence of it all is crucial to my game plan.

Thanks for listening guys!

How do you even know you like it? This sounds like a ridiculous plan, though yes it is definitely possible to get there in 1 year time if you invest a lot of time.
    MF Pro & Spectra | Kontrol S4 MKI | 2x Kontrol S1 MKI | MC-1000 | Generic MKI