Convince me to not go from CDJs back to Traktor
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Tech Guru

Default Convince me to not go from CDJs back to Traktor

So I currently use a CDJ 900 NXS + 2000 setup with a DJM800 + RMX-1000 which I absolutely love. As I'm starting to get more invested into my actual career as a medical/graduate student, I'm questioning why I have such expensive gear when I'm not playing out at clubs or anything... With the introduction of the XDJ-RX and even the DDJ-SX, it's becoming harder and harder for me to not really consider selling my equipment and buying a controller which can really accomplish the same thing.

I initially went the CDJ route because I really liked the large platters which made beatmatching much easier for me. I also felt that I really learned how to phrase much better when I started using the CDJs. I also absolutely love the RMX-1000, but I think I may have to give it up if I move to a controller unless I just drop it between the controller and monitors.

I really like the XDJ-RX, but a lot of people seem to be saying it's not built as well as the CDJs? Has anyone played on one to really see how it is? Unfortunately, my GC doesn't have one here, and I don't really wanna purchase one before selling my equipment. I do have an SX coming on Wednesday that I will try out, but I think I still prefer mixing without a laptop. The other reason why I'm shying away from CDJs is because when I DJd at my cousin's wedding, I had to move all my songs/cues to Traktor anyways because I didn't want to bring my CDJ setup, so I feel like moving back to digital DJing is the right move with my sister's wedding coming up next year.

I dunno what the point of this post really is, but I know I'm really going to miss my CDJs and DJM if I sell them even if I do end up loving the Pioneer controller or whatever I get.
    Bedroom DJ | Pioneer DJM-800 | Pioneer CDJ2000 and CDJ900-NXS | 2 x Mackie MR8MKII | Sennheiser Amperior