365 to VJ with After Effects and Resolume
    Tech Guru

Default 365 to VJ with After Effects and Resolume

Hey everybody it's been a long time since I've posted on here. I've been using Resolume alongside Traktor for almost 2 years now and one of the biggest challenges with using Resolume is keeping content fresh.

For the first while I was using a lot of Beeples royalty free footage and eventually bought footage from Resolume's online store. While the footage is great, the cost is pretty high (damn euro's). I wanted to make my own footage but really had no idea where to start. I'd tried learning to use After Effects off and on before eventually quitting. It's a pretty complex program and lots of tutorials aren't really geared toward VJs.

I've finally started making progress and the biggest thing that has helped is working on a new project everyday, no matter if the work is good or bad I share it.

If you've struggled to learn how to use After Effects or have questions about using Resolume with Traktor feel free ask any questions. Happy to help.

https://www.instagram.com/p/BE6g96Xj...=ryandejaegher
    Last edited by rdej47; 05-23-2016 at 11:35 PM. Reason: Embed didn't work

Hey ryan,

I'd like to know a bit more running traktor and resolume together.. doe you have any kind of sync between them? Are you sending traktor's BPM to resolume to sync up the audio and video?

Do you operate both whilst mixing? or do you have someone else taking care of visuals or audio for you?

Also have you looked at quartz composer? I've read some stuff about it but never tried it out for myself, I'm not sure how it compares to after effects but I do know that the visuals are rendered live which allows you to change parameters on the fly in resolume.
    MBP 13 2012 | 2x NI Kontrol X1 Mk2 | NI Kontrol F1 | NI Audio 2 | Behringer CMD MM-1 | Sennheiser HD25 Mk2

Tech Guru

Quote Originally Posted by r08zy View Post
    Hey ryan,