Having issues with DJing freestyle & the pressure of recording....
    Tech Convert

Default Having issues with DJing freestyle & the pressure of recording....

Hey guys!

So much awesome content on here so I appreciate all the great feedback this community gives! Learned so much! Just wanted to get your perspectives on something...

As the title suggests, I'm struggling when the pressure is on and I have to deliver as a freestyle DJ..

Some background..
    I've been DJing for 3~4 years now, mostly in the bedroom but I've also done several house parties along with having DJed a division 1 men's NCAA basketball game (of which most turned out as pretty successful events). I use Traktor & an S2 and try to DJ all styles however as a genre, I prefer house. In addition to enjoying the music, I can predict the nature of the tracks (predictable progression, 8 bar intro into build, etc). While this may hint toward the answer, the issue comes when I'm trying to go freestyle, without a setlist and play what the vibe seems to demand, as I hear so many people say this is the BEST way to DJ. In addition to this, I'm far more adventurous and seem to have better luck with my freestyle type mixes when the record button is not on and I have a set list of songs to play.

I know this seems like a simple problem - learn your music! - but I wanted to see if anyone else has worked through this stage of learning the art of DJing and possibly what resources they utilized to learn how to be flexible in mixing... I really like how Traktor color codes the waveforms and I'm getting better at gauging the wave form in addition to learning how to use the phase meter... But I think I'm chiefly looking to see if anyone can suggest resources for bettering my knowledge of freestyle DJing (ideally with examples).

I'm sorry if this is a commonly asked question, but I wasn't quite sure what to search for!
    Thanks for reading and hope to hear from you guys!

WUMBO
    Country Roads, Take Me Home.