Updating my setup/controller, need your recommendations!
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    Tech Convert

Default Updating my setup/controller, need your recommendations!

Hi all, things are going great and I want a new setup to become more professional. I use traktor on a laptop and a controller. Couple of things I don't like about traktor (see later) but I think I got to stick with it. I got my flow, tracks analysed and properly placed tons of cue points over the years. I used a Hercules 4MX and a custom mapping. People are looking funny when I arrive with this not-so-popular and modest controller, so I need something to be taken seriously
    Also, the Hercules is rather small, I'm missing some controls and some buttons don't react if you don't press the properly in the middle of the button - rather annoying.

Their is stuff in traktor I don't use: no scratch, STEMS, remix decks. I'm not a producer and not interested in remixing live. I sparsely use samples. But I do use loops, fx, filters. These last two I don't like in traktor (no decent delay! no option of adding external fx). And I did use Allen & Heath mixers in the past, I'd love to use those filters.

Things I'm looking for in the setup:
    on the mixer part
    -XLR output
    - FX on board or send/return options
    - good EQ and filters
    - ability to browse

on the deck part
    - trigger samples
    - trigger cuepoints
    - active, move and resize loops
    -scroll or move through a track (jogwheels maybe, but something to beatmatch manually, I do run some groovy tracks!)

I could buy a Native Instruments controller, but I feel like I probably be paying to much for stuff I don't use (STEMS-ready let's say). With the whole X1, F1, Z1,D2, Z2 range I'm confused about what to buy. I like the feel of a 'real' mixer, with FX and filters on board, ad maybe I can overcome the bad filter and fx by traktor this way?