Playing this weekend and not sure if I'll know how to get my equipment set up...help!
Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 65
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    45

    Default Playing this weekend and not sure if I'll know how to get my equipment set up...help!

    My friends and I have rented out the basement of this bar to throw a party this Saturday (we got a package deal all-you-can drink for under $20 per person, which in this city is a really good deal because of how expensive alcohol usually is after taxes). The idea is that I'm going to DJ for the first couple hours of the party.

    I take a look at the equipment and it's a nice setup. There are two Pioneer CDJ-850s and a Pioneer DJM-900 mixer plugged into QSC K10 speakers. Only I looked at it and I literally don't understand any of what's going on. I realized how far away I am from being anything more than a bedroom DJ. First of all, I haven't mastered beatmatching yet, and I won't be ready for that by this Saturday. So I'm going to have to bring my own controller--a Numark Mixtrack Pro II--but I have no idea how to plug it into those speakers. The mixer is plugged into the "Line in B" input with this heavy looking cable and I think that's it. If you click on the first link, it gives you a photo of the back of the speakers. The second link gives their specs.

    http://www.acquris.se/images/qsc_k10...dspeaker_2.jpg
    http://www.acquris.se/media/product.php?id=536&lang=en

    But as far as I know, I don't see where I could plug in my controller. It looks like under this input there are two RCA cable inputs, can I use those? My friend said I should plug my controller into one channel of the mixer, but the mixer has all of the EQ's and faders and whatnot...am I going to be doing all of my mixing on the mixer or the controller? And if I do it on the controller (plugged into one channel of the mixer, as my friend said), will it sound the same as it does at home? Is there anything I have to worry about in terms of setting it up? Sorry for asking such basic questions.

    Let me know what I need to be worrying about. We're supposed to put down a deposit tonight.

  2. #2
    Tech Mentor ragverp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    281

    Default

    if you dont want to buy any cables, just use the RCA (cinch input) so just a rca cable from your mixtrackt out to the rca in on the qsc.

    But just like your friend said, the easy way is to plug in the mixer, dont touch the eq just set your gain and fader and mix on your mixtrack
    Allen & Heath DB4, Xone K2, 2x Native instrument D2
    Soundcloud
    Mixcloud

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor Stephen Nawlins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Basel, Switzerland
    Posts
    211

    Default

    Just one advice: Before you destroy the Bars gear, they should have a Person in charge of the euquipment at the bar...ask which channel you can use, try to get in touch with that nerdy guy and he might be a good help.

    Also it will increase the bar owners opinion about you like "Wow not only such a stupid guy who Comes and start plugin in and out all the Installation". Owners appreciate this Kind of behavior believe me.

    And maybe having a look at Youtube searching for something like "How to Plug Your Equipment Into A Mixer" could also help.

    Best Thing is that you learned something for Life: Being a DJ is more than just using AUTOSYNC on your Controller.

    I wish you good luck and a huge Party: MAKE THEM WET!!!

  4. #4
    Tech Guru astromech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,745

    Default

    Plug your controller into one of the mixer channels on the with a stereo RCA cable. Make sure all the EQs, filter and gain are set properly before you start your set. Get there early and do a soundcheck. Take spare cables. USB, RCA, RCA to 3.5mm TRRS at the bare minimum. Take some electrical tape; you never know when you'll need it. Take a flashlight.
    A&H Xone:96 | Xone:K1 | 2 x 1210s | Traktor Pro 3 | Apple Macbook Pro (2015) 13" | Sennheiser HD7 DJ | Maschine Mikro Mk3
    read: http://djworx.com/author/dan-morse
    talk: http://facebook.com/bleeptechno
    listen: http://mixcloud.com/bleephudds

  5. #5
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    45

    Default

    Thanks everyone for the advice! And yeah, I already made sure to have the bar's DJ be there to help me get set up. It was actually part of the package. We had to pay extra to use their equipment (and even speakers counted as "equipment"). So he'll be there to make sure I don't mess anything up. I'm going to try to just plug into the speakers with my RCA cable; if not, I'll try to go through the mixer.

  6. #6
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,467

    Default

    Go through the mixer.
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  7. #7
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    45

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Patch View Post
    Go through the mixer.
    What's the advantage of doing that? Isn't it just one more thing that can be messed up?

  8. #8
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,467

    Default

    The mixer is already proven to work with the speakers. You're controller isn't. So if there is a fuck up you know it's at your end, not the house installation.
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  9. #9
    Tech Guru Timbo21's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    It's Britainy Bitch
    Posts
    557

    Default

    I'd say Patch is right.

    If you go into a mixer channel it will be a breeze for the DJ after you. If you went into the speakers there would be some replugging, perhaps some buzz & pops as the next DJ reconfigures. Since you have limited experience you want to keep things easy so you're not getting into equipment stress before you play.

    Good luck and tell us how it went
    Xone92/X1 MKII X 2/F1/Macbook Pro 13/Technics SL1210 MK2's
    https://soundcloud.com/timbo21-1/tracks

    Radio Show Every Friday & Saturday Night 22.00-00.00 BST
    http://www.jazzlondonradio.com/timbo...-london-radio/

  10. #10
    Tech Guru astromech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,745

    Default

    Pretty sure the bar's DJ will make you do that anyway.
    A&H Xone:96 | Xone:K1 | 2 x 1210s | Traktor Pro 3 | Apple Macbook Pro (2015) 13" | Sennheiser HD7 DJ | Maschine Mikro Mk3
    read: http://djworx.com/author/dan-morse
    talk: http://facebook.com/bleeptechno
    listen: http://mixcloud.com/bleephudds

Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •