DJs paid to search for unlicensed samples in new releases???
    Tech Student

Default DJs paid to search for unlicensed samples in new releases???

Hi all!

Im a grad student in musicology at the University of Oxford and am trying to do research about how sampling practices and US copyright law have interacted.

What I'm particularly interested in is talking to DJs who have been hired by law firms and record companies' legal departments to find and report potential instances of unlicensed sampling. So please, anyone who has done this work, or anyone who knows someone who's done it, I would greatly appreciate having a discussion w/ you!

I'm also interested in hearing anyone's opinion about the current state of US copyright law as it pertains to sampling, from anyone who has been affected by this branch of the law, and thoughts about the morality and ethics of sampling more generally.

Please feel free to PM me if youd prefer

Default DJs or Producers???

Quote Originally Posted by JARchuk View Post
    Hi all!

Im a grad student in musicology at the University of Oxford and am trying to do research about how sampling practices and US copyright law have interacted.

What I'm particularly interested in is talking to DJs who have been hired by law firms and record companies' legal departments to find and report potential instances of unlicensed sampling. So please, anyone who has done this work, or anyone who knows someone who's done it, I would greatly appreciate having a discussion w/ you!

I'm also interested in hearing anyone's opinion about the current state of US copyright law as it pertains to sampling, from anyone who has been affected by this branch of the law, and thoughts about the morality and ethics of sampling more generally.

Please feel free to PM me if youd prefer