Beginner to this, a little help.

Default Beginner to this, a little help.

Hi all
    I am a complete beginner to all PA systems/DJing but I am quite interested.
    I want to get a small party system right now for about an average of 60 people sometimes more sometimes less.

I am thinking of buying two SkyTec CSA-12 12" 600w speakers as they are active and I was wondering what would be the best way to connect a an audio input from probably an iPhone/laptop?

If it is through a mixer do I then need to make sure the wattage of the mixer is ok for the speakers or is that just for amplifiers?

Can anyone recommend some good (cheap ish?) active speakers and a mixer that is quite lowend that would suit my need.
    I have a budget of roughly £350?
    Thanks!

Hi Ollie,

If you're going to invest any money into speakers I would try to stay with a known brand. You can pick up Behringer B210D's for £ 140.00 each. Behringer makes a good quality entry-level speaker.

As for a mixer, it all depends on what your future plans are. If you are planning on expanding to bigger speakers, a DJ controller, etc. then a mixer may be worth buying. If you don't plan to go that route and just want to play music at parties the B210D's have inputs on the back that allow you to plug your laptop/iPod directly into them. You can plug your laptop into the audio input on one speaker and link the speakers using a standard XLR cable (microphone cable.) This would be the most cost effective way on your limited budget.

Here is a link to the speakers: https://www.musicstore.de/en_GB/GBP/...PAH0008551-000

I hope this helps!

Troy

Default Quality for cheap??? No Way!!!

The main Question is What Budget do you have???

I am working with the Fender Passport Serie.

https://www.thomann.de/gb/fender_pas...assport_357898

Perfect for Mobile Parties:
    - Fast Setup
    - Good Quality product that doesn't break apart by the first use.