I'm a DJ based out of Japan. Ask me anything.

Default I'm a DJ based out of Japan. Ask me anything.

I have noticed quite a number of threads discussing Japan as of recent, so I figured I'd start a thread where people could ask questions about DJing - or just life in general - in Japan. I recall someone else posting a similar topic, but the information revolved mostly around Tokyo night life (with the majority of that information centered upon how to score with Japanese girls, which, in my opinion, is a topic that should be explored with great care given the rape culture that many foreign males here perpetuate). I really love Japan so I wanted to go beyond just what kind of parties and love hotels are worth checking out.

A bit of background: I live in Tokyo where I work full-time as a lawyer at an international firm. I try to DJ on the side when time permits, and have recently started organizing my own events. I've lived in Japan on and off for around 7 years and I speak the language fluently.

Over to you guys.
    Last edited by Aaron Benjamin; 02-13-2018 at 04:51 AM.
    Aaron Benjamin
    soundcloud.com/djaaronbenjamin
    facebook.com/djaaronbenjamin

Tokyo/Toronto

What "sound" is big right now in Japan?
    Weapons, not food, not homes, not shoes
    Not need, just feed the war cannibal animal

Quote Originally Posted by keithace View Post
    What "sound" is big right now in Japan?
    Cookie-cutter EDM is what really resonates with the younger generation. Any big name will do (Zedd, Martin Garrix, David Guetta), especially if they have performed at festivals in Tokyo like Ultra. There also seems to be a lot of love for bounce.

For some reason the 70/140ish bpm genres like trap and dubstep aren't very popular; but there seems to be a bit more momentum these days.
    Aaron Benjamin

Tokyo/Toronto

Is Japan as expensive as everyone says it is?

Japan is on my "to do before I die" list, their history is one of my pet subjects.