DDJ-RB Specs
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: DDJ-RB Specs

  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    11

    Default DDJ-RB Specs

    I want to get into DJing and Im wanting to purchase the ddj rb as it seems the best offer. I checked the minimum requirements and my laptop only just meets them (i3 processor and 4gb of ram (I have 3.97 free)).
    Will the rb work ok with my laptop or will it run slow/lag?
    Many thanks.

  2. #2

    Default

    Hi Kevwin,

    Congratulations on making the decision to start DJing.

    Good choice on controller as well. I don't think you'll have any issues with the specs you listed. What capacity is your hard drive at right now?

    Kind regards,
    Aaron Benjamin
    soundcloud.com/djaaronbenjamin
    facebook.com/djaaronbenjamin

    Tokyo/Toronto

  3. #3
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    11

    Default

    I have about 400 gb and 280 gb free.
    Thank you for the reply. The last thing I want is to get the controller then have to spend fortunes on upgrading the laptop...also I didn't want to get the SB2 either!!

  4. #4

    Default

    it may lag a bit when you try to use effects. my girlfriend has an i5 with 4gb of ram and serato was skipping like a cd to the point that i couldnt use it. it might work for now but you will DEFINITELY want to upgrade before playing any major gigs. either way, the sb2/rb is the cheapest, reliable controller on the market and can easily flip it if you decide you dont want it

  5. #5
    DJTT Mapping Ninja Moderator Stewe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    MIDI
    Posts
    7,353

    Default

    i3 processor with 4GB of RAM should be fine. Just be sure to optimize your machine for audio processing and disable wifi and bluetooth.

  6. #6
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Stewe View Post
    i3 processor with 4GB of RAM should be fine. Just be sure to optimize your machine for audio processing and disable wifi and bluetooth.
    What do you mean by optimize for audio processing?
    Last edited by Kevwin; 03-04-2017 at 07:31 AM.

  7. #7
    DJTT Mapping Ninja Moderator Stewe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    MIDI
    Posts
    7,353

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kevwin View Post
    What do you mean by optimize for audio processing?
    I mean optimize your Operative System for work with audio applications such as DJ and Music Production software.

    DJ Endo's tutorial on Youtube is a great peace to start with:


  8. #8
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Thank you so much. I'll give that a go as soon as I get home.
    As for major gigs...I doubt it as this will be the first time I've mixed anything, so for now I'll be happy to annoy the mrs with my bad jungle mixing!!!!

  9. #9
    DJTT Mapping Ninja Moderator Stewe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    MIDI
    Posts
    7,353

    Default

    You are welcome mate.
    Practice and enjoy!

  10. #10
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Optimised...of sorts

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •