New to DJing and overwhelmed--help!

Default New to DJing and overwhelmed--help!

Hi all,

just joined the forum sorry if I'm posting out of topic

I've been producing EDM for the past 4 years and am now at a point where I want to get out and start DJing. My dream is to play at EDM festivals and clubs. I just moved to LA to pursue my dream and just bought a controller.

I DJ'ed a bit in college--mostly house and frat parties--never in club settings. So I'm ready to start hustling, BUT I JUST DON'T KNOW WHERE TO START. To all the people who get gigs--how did you get yourself out there? What did you do to get your first gigs?

Would appreciate any advice from you all, peace

LA is savage it's not easy to get booked. From what I've heard, you're going to have to do some major d*** sucking just to open a 30 minute timeslot. Unfortunately, you don't need many DJ skills to get booked. Start recording mixes and LISTEN TO THEM. This was this single thing that sky rocketed my skills. Once you are happy with a mix, send it to every promoter in town but express more of your original tunes as they are more likely to get you booked than any DJ skills. Start going to clubs and being a regular with the people in charge. Good luck!

Tech Convert

You didn't mention what you play... EDM is such a horse manure term.
    If you play "big room/Dutch" house, I'd concentrate on learning another style.. and fast!

Throw a single charity night at a bar with a music license; get your friends to run the door, you may even find that takes-off and you don't need to involve other promoters.
    Talk to bar owners and discuss your plan, bring someone from the charity with you...see what they think. "Phone cards for heroes", "Help an inner-city child", "a kidney for Johnny"... (perhaps)- make some money for the cause, be creative, but don't lie or fail to actually deliver the goods.
    You will need to do some actual 'leg work' and promote the evening, this is where you either win or fail.