Midifighter and Push together?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    15

    Default Midifighter and Push together?

    First post ever guys.
    Just got an ableton push 2 and I'm looking around the internet to eventually pick up a midifighter pro off or someone and wanted to use these together for performing. Was wondering if integration between the push and the MFPro is something possible?
    Thanks DJTT tribe

  2. #2

    Default

    yes. what program do you plan on using them with?

  3. #3
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mastah Kyler View Post
    yes. what program do you plan on using them with?
    I don't know, I'm new to digital djing so I assumed just performing out of ableton unless you have some light to shed on me?
    I plan on having them both routed through a djm to my lap top and maybe even taking advantage of my mixers FXs as well

  4. #4

    Default

    well you have many options, you can pretty much use as many midi controllers as your laptop will allow. mapping is incredibly easy.

  5. #5
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mastah Kyler View Post
    well you have many options, you can pretty much use as many midi controllers as your laptop will allow. mapping is incredibly easy.
    For sure i figured.
    Well if i wanted to use the push/fighterpro combo, would u recommend ableton as the performing software? If i did go this route would I just have to map the MFpro to ableton live on my own or how would I be able to use both push and MFpro at the same time? Sorry for all the questions.

  6. #6

    Default

    strongly depends on how/your style of dj/live sets you want to do. you can do a full ableton live set or if you still wanted to use CDJ, you can use CDJs in Traktor HID mode and then use ableton link to sync or masterclock the 2 apps together. ableton mapping is as simple as plugging your device, clicking the function you want mapped, then pushing the button you want that function mapped to. i dont believe you will even have to tell ableton the difference in devices. im almost positive most midi controller are plug n play with ableton

  7. #7
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mastah Kyler View Post
    strongly depends on how/your style of dj/live sets you want to do. you can do a full ableton live set or if you still wanted to use CDJ, you can use CDJs in Traktor HID mode and then use ableton link to sync or masterclock the 2 apps together. ableton mapping is as simple as plugging your device, clicking the function you want mapped, then pushing the button you want that function mapped to. i dont believe you will even have to tell ableton the difference in devices. im almost positive most midi controller are plug n play with ableton
    totally understand where youre coming from on the ableton side of things. What I am wondering(i think) is like how will the MFpro connect to both cause, correct me if im wrong, doesnt the MFpro come with its own mapping at first or something like that??

    again thank you for alll the content

  8. #8
    Tech Convert
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    15

    Default

    like in this video for example of the fighters in action, i wanted do some similar style but instead of two fighters like this dude has, one would be a fighter and one would be my push


  9. #9
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,467

    Default

    Push = Production type Pads
    MF = Performance type Pads

    If you need more performance pads than one MF has, get more performance pads (either another MF, or an MPD type pad controller).
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ghostcoast View Post
    totally understand where youre coming from on the ableton side of things. What I am wondering(i think) is like how will the MFpro connect to both cause, correct me if im wrong, doesnt the MFpro come with its own mapping at first or something like that??

    again thank you for alll the content
    The MF is a blank slate of midi controls in ableton, however you can download mapping for it in ableton.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •