Xone DX vs. VCI 100 SE
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Tech Student

Default Xone DX vs. VCI 100 SE

I am new to the DJ Scene and am getting ready to purchase some equipment. I would Love to buy a couple of CDJ 1000's and a DJM 800, but its not in the budget right now. Here is my question. After much review I am considering a VCI 100 SE or a Xone DX. I know the Xone Dx is not officially out yet, and its performance is yet to be seen, but this is the unit I am leaning towards. I am looking for some opinions on the two choices. I will outline why I think the Xone might be the right choice. I am interested in a controller, but would also like a unit that would work as a standard mixer, ie I could still use a couple CDJ 800's with the Xone. If I purchase the VCI 100 SE, I would still need to upgrade to Traktor Pro, and buy a sound card. This would get me into the $850 to $900 range for a nice setup. If I buy the Xone DX it is already a 20 channel sound card and comes with serato 2.0 for $1299, and I can use it as a standard mixer and it has true 4 channel control. Like I said above I am new to the scene, but I like the idea of a controller that can also be used as standard mixer. Any advice or opinions are appreciated.

Xone DX ALL THE WAY. the reason I say this is because u wanted cdjs originally, and what the DX will do for you is teach you how to do major mixing OFF OF the screen. sure you'll have to look at the Itch displays a little but, the are are ALOT of onboard functions and controls very easily labeled and styled like a traditional 4 channel mixer rather than an HID controller. yes it is expensive but it is a high quality product but when you get ready for those cdjs you wont be like "oh shit i dont have a screen.." even if u had timecoded cdjs you'd still be comfy doing your major mixing on your mixer and cdjs without screen help. the xone dx will be a better tool for training and mixing.
    Last edited by Phormula1.8T; 12-13-2009 at 07:03 PM.
    Durty Harry