Kontrol X1 and new Traktor
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    P.E.I Canada
    Posts
    80

    Default Kontrol X1 and new Traktor

    Hi.
    I recently upgraded Traktor so that I could use it with my new Xone 96 but it doesn't see my original Kontrol X1. Is it no longer going to work? Is it a paper weight now? I hate using a mouse to select tracks and use the affects.
    2x Denon Dns 3700s, Korg Zero 4, NI x1, Macbookpro, KRK rocket 8s, KRK sub.

  2. #2
    Tech Guru astromech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,745

    Default

    The X1 Mk1 is no longer supported by Traktor. It's eight years old, and is not MIDI class compliant, meaning that NI would have to cobble together new drivers that work with macOS. Even the X1 Mk2 is five years old...

    It might be a good chance to find a preowned Xone:K1 and make use of that X:LINK connection.
    A&H Xone:96 | Xone:K1 | 2 x 1210s | Traktor Pro 3 | Apple Macbook Pro (2015) 13" | Sennheiser HD7 DJ | Maschine Mikro Mk3
    read: http://djworx.com/author/dan-morse
    talk: http://facebook.com/bleeptechno
    listen: http://mixcloud.com/bleephudds

  3. #3
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    London UK / Spain
    Posts
    37

    Default

    Woah.. I have the first X1, that would be disappointing. I guess I don't need to upgrade to Traktor 3 yet.
    YouTube Facebook MixCloud SoundCloud Resident Advisor Twitter

    Equipment: Traktor S8, Traktor X1 (v1), NI Audio 6 plus timecode vinyl, Allen & Heath K2, Technics SL-1200 M5G, Pioneer CDJ2000, Novation Launchpad (v1), Korg Kaoss Pad KP3, Alessis DM5, m-Audio Ozone midi keyboard, USB electric guitar.

  4. #4
    Moderator keithace's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    5,070

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by astromech View Post
    The X1 Mk1 is no longer supported by Traktor. It's eight years old, and is not MIDI class compliant, meaning that NI would have to cobble together new drivers that work with macOS. Even the X1 Mk2 is five years old...

    It might be a good chance to find a preowned Xone:K1 and make use of that X:LINK connection.
    Would that be the same for the s4mk1 and all the earlier native instruments products?
    Weapons, not food, not homes, not shoes
    Not need, just feed the war cannibal animal

  5. #5
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,467

    Default

    X1 MK1 no longer supported???

    Fucking cunts, NI. Dick move.
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  6. #6
    Tech Guru astromech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,745

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by keithace View Post
    Would that be the same for the s4mk1 and all the earlier native instruments products?
    They dropped support for those in macOS a while ago.
    A&H Xone:96 | Xone:K1 | 2 x 1210s | Traktor Pro 3 | Apple Macbook Pro (2015) 13" | Sennheiser HD7 DJ | Maschine Mikro Mk3
    read: http://djworx.com/author/dan-morse
    talk: http://facebook.com/bleeptechno
    listen: http://mixcloud.com/bleephudds

  7. #7
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    P.E.I Canada
    Posts
    80

    Default

    All this new tech has a hell of a downside. I would almost guarantee the turntables I bought in about 1986 will still be alive and kicking somewhere but it is accepted that solid well built relevant gear bought in the last 10 years are bricks. Planned obsolescence at its worst.
    2x Denon Dns 3700s, Korg Zero 4, NI x1, Macbookpro, KRK rocket 8s, KRK sub.

  8. #8
    Tech Guru astromech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,745

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Percy View Post
    All this new tech has a hell of a downside. I would almost guarantee the turntables I bought in about 1986 will still be alive and kicking somewhere but it is accepted that solid well built relevant gear bought in the last 10 years are bricks. Planned obsolescence at its worst.
    I believe it's more about technology outpacing buyer habits as much as 'planned obsolescence'. Especially in cases like this. It's not like a lot of tech where it literally dies the moment it moves out of the product cycle. The X1 still works fine with older versions of Traktor, and you could do the USB-host hack to get DVS with the 96. I'd say this is more a case of chasing the dragon of new and shiny (TP3/Xone:96).

    /controversial opinion
    A&H Xone:96 | Xone:K1 | 2 x 1210s | Traktor Pro 3 | Apple Macbook Pro (2015) 13" | Sennheiser HD7 DJ | Maschine Mikro Mk3
    read: http://djworx.com/author/dan-morse
    talk: http://facebook.com/bleeptechno
    listen: http://mixcloud.com/bleephudds

  9. #9
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    P.E.I Canada
    Posts
    80

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by astromech View Post
    I believe it's more about technology outpacing buyer habits as much as 'planned obsolescence'. Especially in cases like this. It's not like a lot of tech where it literally dies the moment it moves out of the product cycle. The X1 still works fine with older versions of Traktor, and you could do the USB-host hack to get DVS with the 96. I'd say this is more a case of chasing the dragon of new and shiny (TP3/Xone:96).

    /controversial opinion
    No dragon chasing. My last mixer was a firewire Korg Zero 4 that I got for my 40th birthday thinking it would be the last mixer I bought. That was almost 11 years ago so Im not really just chasing new shiny gear.. My new laptop has no firewire and Korg don't support that mixer anymore so I had my hand forced. The reason I wanted my X1 to work is it was instant plug and play with no mapping. I would happily fork out 300 dollars for the MK2 if it was much of an up grade but that is also very old now (in native instrument terms anyway).
    2x Denon Dns 3700s, Korg Zero 4, NI x1, Macbookpro, KRK rocket 8s, KRK sub.

  10. #10
    DJTT Moderator Dude Jester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    12,370

    Default

    Mine work fine with 3.0.2
    Acer E5 i7 2TB 16GB ~ 512GB SSD ~ WIN 10 ~ TSP 2.11 ~ AUDIO 6 ~ X1 ~ DN-X1600 ~ X1 ~ SPECTRA ~ TWISTER ~ ATH-PRO500 MK2 ~ AT2020 MIC

    "This aggression will not stand, man."

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •