Is my MIDIFighter Pro bricked? - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 30
  1. #11

  2. #12
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    34

    Default

    OK, I've been able to verify with my meter, some magnifying glasses, and steadier hands than I figured I could manage, that I've got proper 22R resistance between D- and pin 30 on the AT90USB162 chip and D+ and pin 29. I think that's a good sign... I hope that's a good sign...
    In other news, I tried seeing if MIDI Monitor could "see" the board, and it does not. It's like it's getting stuck in its startup process and just hanging. :/

  3. #13
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    34

    Default

    And after spending a little more time and reading a lot more datasheets, i seem to have good connectivity around all the chips. I think this is a good sign.

  4. #14
    Tech Guru DJDoubleYou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Hyperspace
    Posts
    1,269

    Default

    And nothing under system information's USB device tree right? I've got this:mfpro.jpg (it got compressed to shit but you get the idea)
    MF Pro & Spectra | Kontrol S4 MKI | 2x Kontrol S1 MKI | MC-1000 | Generic MKI

  5. #15
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Correct - I know exactly what your pic is describing, and yeah, I get nothing showing up there at all.

  6. #16
    Tech Guru DJDoubleYou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Hyperspace
    Posts
    1,269

    Default

    Are there any programming headers on the MF board (not the daughterboard) you might want to try reflashing the board. Even just to check if that's possible.
    MF Pro & Spectra | Kontrol S4 MKI | 2x Kontrol S1 MKI | MC-1000 | Generic MKI

  7. #17
    Tech Guru DJDoubleYou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Hyperspace
    Posts
    1,269

    Default

    Have you tried doing that by using the bootloader switch on the board?
    MF Pro & Spectra | Kontrol S4 MKI | 2x Kontrol S1 MKI | MC-1000 | Generic MKI

  8. #18
    Tech Guru DJDoubleYou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Hyperspace
    Posts
    1,269

    Default

    As a last-ditch effort you could try removing the ESD Protection chip, but I'd try everything else before doing this as it likely won't help.
    MF Pro & Spectra | Kontrol S4 MKI | 2x Kontrol S1 MKI | MC-1000 | Generic MKI

  9. #19
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    34

    Default

    My board has the two red buttons soldered on for the Reset and Boot spots, but I can't seem to get the board into bootloader mode, eithber by the old school 4-button method, or using the red buttons. One interesting thing that happens, though, if I hold down the Reset red button and plug in the USB, I get one of 4 different combinations of the button LEDs lit up:

    *.**
    ****
    **..
    ***.

    or
    *..*
    ****
    **..
    *...

    or
    *.**
    ****
    **.*
    ***.

    or
    ****
    ****
    ****
    ***.

    but then, no matter which one I had, when I hit the boot button I get
    ....
    ....
    ....
    *...

    just like when I plug in the USB with no buttons pressed.

  10. #20
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    34

    Default

    I don't know if this is going to help me or shed any new light, but I found the "Bricked MIDI Fighter Reset Guide" here: https://s3.amazonaws.com/CGSupport/B...eset+Guide.pdf

    Even if it doesn't wind up helping me, having this link in a thread might help someone else in the future... more info on my situation soon...

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •