Neurofunk DnB mixing
    Tech Student

Default Neurofunk DnB mixing

Hi all,

I am unfamiliar with this website, so if I posted in the wrong place please forgive me.

I am an amateur DJ, I only mix music for myself or friends at a get together. I went "big" and got a DDJ-1000 a couple of years ago and had a friend teach me the basics like:
    • How phrases work (to some degree, half phrases still confuse me)
    • How to set up hotcues and fix songs where rekordbox misses the beat
    • how to use the frequency dials (idk what you call them but high, mids and lows)
    • how to use the colours (to some extent)
    • the key colourwheel, but generally I would just experiment outside of it anyways

I generally only listen/play neurofunk and I'm very picky with my tunes, because honestly imo most of the stuff out there is absolute garbage. I feel like with neurofunk specifically mixing on more than 2 channels just generates noise and I have no idea how to even approach this, because with some other subgenres of dnb my friends who are much more capable than me can easily use 4 channels and I wonder if I'm just not experienced enough or am I right in assuming most of the time neurofunk just starts clashing too much if you go too far.

I would like to learn a bit more about my controller's functionality in terms of neurofunk. I know for example in house music (or constant basskick music) that you can do a lot of shenanigans with looping, but would that even be useful in the context on neurofunk? And if so what would be the use case? And then in general what other functionality of the controller can I possibly use?