Beginner Equipment Recommendations
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tech Student

Default Beginner Equipment Recommendations

Hi,

I am looking to get a cheap (up to $250) mixer that is similar to the Vestax Spin sold by Apple. I have never done any kind of DJ'ing before and really just want to mess around and have some fun with my music. I am using an HP Laptop running Windows 7.

I would like to be able to control two mp3 tracks and control the following from the mixer:

Scratching
    Speed
    Looping
    Multiple Cue’s
    Sound FX
    Microphone
    Headphone Previewing

Basically, I am looking for a setup that will provide the same functionality of as the Vestax Spin but on a PC. Please recommend a hardware/software combination from the following that will suit me best:

Hercules DJ Console MK2
    Numark Stealth Control
    Numark Total Control
    ION Audio iCUE
    Behringer BCD3000 B-Control DJ Mixer
    Behringer BCD2000 B-Control Deejay

Tech Guru

you could probably get the spin to work on a pc to be honest

However if you want to get into DJ'in in a dirt cheap way get yourself a cheap multi out sound card off ebay. A midi keyboard. Startin out I would recomend the oxygen 8. and a real 2 channel mixer. I know this isnt quite what your looking for but I think this would be a better setup as you will learn alot more and have a setup thatr you can build and expand on. If you look round ebay you should be able to pick all this up for around 100quid/dollars.

If a all in one type controller is rerly what you want I would recomend the Hercules rmx at this price point can pick one up for about 200. This gives you almost as many options as the vci 100. good build quality. Its not on par but almost there. DONT GO FOR THE NUMARK TOTAL CONTROL. It is a pile of poo just pick one up and u will see y

id just say get the Hercules and the free version of traktor.
    Dj Krilikz‡ -