USB Game Pad Mod Question
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor extraclassic's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sheffield - UK
    Posts
    255

    Default USB Game Pad Mod Question

    Hi my plan is to mod a couple of USB Game Pads.
    Something like these.

    6:50 for the pair off Fleabay.

    The plan is to build two cases for my decks with a row of arcade buttons in front for cue point selection in Traktor.
    Something like this


    Or this


    I would be planning on using 1 game pad for each deck case.

    My only concern is if the 2 game pads will conflict in Traktor?
    Or if its even possible to use 2 identical game pads at the same time?
    By the way i would be using these on a pc with windows xp pro.

    Any advice is welcome
    Last edited by extraclassic; 05-26-2010 at 05:17 PM.

  2. #2
    Tech Guru Archies'bald's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    685

    Default

    Apparently you can use Glove Pie to do this with multiple controllers. I've yet to master it myself. I have had success with rejoice, but that only allows one controller at a time.

    As far as Traktor goes, if you set your controller section to accept all Midi, then you should be fine.

    Edit .... Someone posted this, but I've not tried it, and it costs around 6 quid. http://www.xpadder.com/

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor extraclassic's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sheffield - UK
    Posts
    255

    Default

    I was hoping to use keyboard mappings in Traktor to avoid using a midi translating program.
    Sorry i should have mentioned that before.

    Thats why i was wondering if 2 identical controllers would conflict with each other?
    And what are the possible solutions?

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor extraclassic's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sheffield - UK
    Posts
    255

    Default

    Edit .... Someone posted this, but I've not tried it, and it costs around 6 quid. http://www.xpadder.com/
    Thanks for the link.

    It would be nice if i didnt have to use any middle software, but if its not possible then i think that program could be the answer

  5. #5
    Tech Guru MiL0's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Brighton / Bangkok
    Posts
    1,386

    Default

    Glovepie will allow you to use different midi channels for each device.

    If you want to use keyboard mapping then I'm guessing you'll need some sort of program that will convert the gamepad presses into keyboard presses?

    edit: nice renders btw - did you do that in google sketch up pro? did you model everything yourself? feel like sharing the project files? :P

  6. #6
    Tech Mentor extraclassic's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sheffield - UK
    Posts
    255

    Default

    nice renders btw - did you do that in google sketch up pro? did you model everything yourself? feel like sharing the project files?
    Yes Milo i used Sketchup. Great program for jotting ideas down.

    If your after the Technics model? you can get it from here.

    http://sketchup.google.com/3dwarehou...22&prevstart=0

  7. #7
    Tech Guru TommyQuiet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    NorthWest,UK
    Posts
    1,468

    Default

    i have done this with 2 controllers myself use xpadder works a dream

  8. #8
    Tech Guru Patch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bristol, UK
    Posts
    6,484

    Default

    I thought about doing this - but I was gonna do 2 rows of 8 arcade buttons (using a single controller) and mount it behind my mixer.

    I like your idea - but the housing for a turntable looks a bit bulky to me. It'll be nice to have it flush with the turntable, though...
    DJ'ing: 2x1200MK2, DJM 850, Dicers, F1, Zomo MC-1000, Sony MDR-v700, i7 Win 10 HP Envy
    Production: Ableton Live 8 and a mouse, Sennheiser HD400, Sony VAIO

    Click HERE to D/L Free Tracks from Soundcloud!!!
    https://www.facebook.com/Patchdj

  9. #9
    Tech Mentor extraclassic's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sheffield - UK
    Posts
    255

    Default

    i have done this with 2 controllers myself use xpadder works a dream
    For the little money it cost i decided to buy Xpadder last night and couldnt agree with you more CassoIVchoon.
    Its a great program and has given me lots of ideas.

    I like your idea - but the housing for a turntable looks a bit bulky to me. It'll be nice to have it flush with the turntable, though...
    Heres the latest render. (thinner wood, thicker foam)


    To be honest theres not that much difference compared to other deck cases.

    Example:

    Roadready RR1200BMKII
    H = 244mm
    W = 544mm
    D = 437mm

    My case
    H = Not 100% sure yet
    W = 514mm
    D = 484mm (I can reduce the depth some more when i find out measurements of game pad board)

    So my case would be 30mm less in width and 47mm more in depth.
    Not much bigger to add the power of 8 arcade buttons

    Also i plan to remove the ground wire from the decks and add a female usb, power socket and rca to the rear of the case = NO WIRES (yippeeee)
    Last edited by extraclassic; 05-29-2010 at 08:20 AM.

  10. #10
    Tech Guru Archies'bald's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    685

    Default

    Can anyone who bought the Xpadder software tell me if it converts analogue signals, or is it just keyboard/digital?

    Ta.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •