Motorized faders?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    Tech Mentor Kobbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Arvika/Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    131

    Default Motorized faders?

    I was just sitting and playing around with my VCI when an idea struck me. Is there any DJ-controllers with motorized faders and would it be possible to install them on a VCI?

    My first thought is that youd probably install a seperate "brain" for the faders. Assuming that you dont need a motorized crossfader, this would give the user 4 analog pots (since the pitch- and volumefaders wont be used). That, my friends is a second FX-bank!

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Tech Guru Steve Zorilow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal, Québec, Canada
    Posts
    1,236

    Default

    The only one I know is the Behringer BCF2000 (Tim Exile seems to like it).

  3. #3
    Tech Mentor DennisHuiberts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    Posts
    443

    Default

    Why would you want motorized faders on a DJ controller?
    Check out my work!

    Vestax VCM-600 (for sale!) - Allen & Heath Xone:62 - Focusrite Saffire LE - Ultimate Ears Triple.Fi 10 Pro - Traktor Pro 2.1 - Ableton Live 8 - MacBook Pro 15"

  4. #4
    Tech Mentor Kobbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Arvika/Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    131

    Default

    Well, for example if you're running 4 decks on a regular VCI, or just for the pitchfaders, so that they always match up to the number on the screen.

  5. #5
    Tech Mentor safefire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    259

    Default

    Sure you can.

    Alps, Bourns and many others make motorized models.
    They go for a tad more than regular faders, but that's only reasonable I guess.

    http://www.alps.com/WebObjects/catal...SN1M_list.html
    http://www.bourns.com/ProductLine.as...panel_controls - PSM, click it

    Can be bought from RS-Components
    http://uk.rs-online.com/web/search/s...duct&R=2199089
    Fixing stuff that isn't broken.

  6. #6
    Tech Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,473

    Default

    Stanton SCS.1d has a motorized pitch fader.

  7. #7
    Tech Wizard
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Bournemouth UK
    Posts
    93

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by safefire View Post
    Sure you can.

    Alps, Bourns and many others make motorized models.
    They go for a tad more than regular faders, but that's only reasonable I guess.

    http://www.alps.com/WebObjects/catal...SN1M_list.html
    http://www.bourns.com/ProductLine.as...panel_controls - PSM, click it

    Can be bought from RS-Components
    http://uk.rs-online.com/web/search/s...duct&R=2199089
    If you modded a controller would you have to put another chip in to control it?
    How would you control it?
    MBP (Traktor/ Ableton) MBP 17" (Early 2009) 2.93Ghz Core duo, 4Gb 1077Mhz RAM, Seagate Momentus XT 7200rpm 500GB OS X 10.6.4 TSP 1.2.6 (R8491), ADJ8 (2.3.14 driver)
    Midi/ Control (either) Vestax: VCM-600 Livid: Ohm64 Akai: APC80 Korg: PadKontrol (running through FarmPad) Technics: SL1210mk II x 1 (and regret selling my other so think twice)

  8. #8
    Tech Mentor safefire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    259

    Default

    Hmm.
    I haven't looked into motorized fader usage.
    I guess if you had a 0-127 midi signal, you could wire something up to control it.

    I'd be hard pressed to give you just a schematic and tell you to get building, without knowing of the controllers inside, the room, where the power comes from, etc.
    Easiest way of asking is, how well versed in electronics are you?
    Fixing stuff that isn't broken.

  9. #9
    Tech Guru Steve Zorilow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal, Québec, Canada
    Posts
    1,236

    Default

    You'll need to monitor the position of the Fader as well, so you may need Microcontroller & some programming skills.

  10. #10
    Tech Mentor safefire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    259

    Default

    Yeah, that's why I asked his electronics skill.

    It's hard just to say go do this and that, when it's a fair bit more complicated than that.
    Getting a fader to move based on some input signal is more than doable, but making it behave properly is a lot more feisty.
    Fixing stuff that isn't broken.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •