Possible Project for a total beginner?

Default Possible Project for a total beginner?

Hey DJTT!

This seems like the perfect place to base my project on. I am aiming on creating a production/mixing set up from scratch for as cheap as I can without compromising too much quality for price. I love music and have been creating a lot of music over the years, however this has been mostly on the drums and in bands etc. Life changed me and I now am really into party scenes. I have a good group of friends who have regular house parties but the music is atrocious (Ipod's plugged into soundsystems ). My universities club has a really crap dj basically only plays music straight from top of the pops (Rhianna, over and over and over again) ! We are all into mash-ups and generally music with quality! However no one has the money for equipment! After all we are all poor students!

I would like to know, from your expertise in making a lot of controllers whether or not it is possible to make a 'house party ready' set up, for less than 500 pounds. Keep in mind I already have:

- a Macbook
    -Basic sound system (perfectly fine for smallish house parties, were not too picky with quality of sound, only music choice)
    -Software (O.O I'm not sure how I got that :P), Ableton and Tracktor
    -Lots of spare time and I live with design students (who are all knowledgeable with electronics and have access to machinery)
    -Lots of music

So I guess (if I have read right) that all I need now is:
    -Controller
    -Soundcard
    -Headphones
    -Practice

Ive spean't a good 6 months making mix's on virtual dj with my mouse and keyboard. The creative genius inside me is in tears because of its limitations. I do however believe I have the basics down. I have no shame in making music and If I end up looking like this:

Then so be it. The show must go on!

Haha so I guess my ultimate question is do you think this is possible!? (hopefully that picture shows proof!)